

Board of Trustees Meeting

December 4, 2024 2:00PM SC First Steps 636 Rosewood Drive Columbia, SC 29201 Minutes

Trustees Present (15):

Dr. Robert Bank
Jacque Curtin
Mary Lynne Diggs
Constance Holloway
Mike Leach
Jesica Mackey

Jack McBride Dave Morley, Chairman Janie Neeley Roger Pryor Mary Anne Scott Dr. Ed Simmer Wes Wooten Sue Williams

Dr. Amy Williams, Vice Chair

Trustees Absent (6)

Rep. Terry Alexander Rep. Shannon Erickson Dr. Matthew Ferguson

John Hayes

Sen. Greg Hembree Eunice Medina

Attendees (67)

Bernice Linton

Ann Vandervliet Emma Matzko Felicia Battle Mark Barnes **Avian Jones** Felicia Patrick Chelsea Richard Gina Beebe **Derek Cromwell** Gloria Goodwin Martha Strickland Ivory Mitchell Karen Oliver Jade Wright Kaitlyn Richards Jaiden Branch Kristine Jenkins Janice Kilburn David O'Kelly Jenny May Molly Tuck Jon Artz **Betty Gardiner** Joy Mazur Jim Riddle Kate Roach Laura Baker Kathy Fitzgerald Kenna Hoover Samantha Ingram **Alexis Pipkins** Kerry Cordan Amira Hulwe Kim Chariker Aubrielle Kituuma Kristen Martocchio Benjamin Hall Kristi Richardson

Brandie Maness
Briana Lined
Candi Lalonde
Cheryl Scales
Cindy Galloway
Cindy Riley
Crystal Campbell
Leila Jacobs
Leila Jacobs
Lis Guimaraes
Mary Laney
Melissa Sanders
Michelle Bowers
Pauletta Plowden

LaMyra Sanders-Dukes

Rachal Hatton-Moore

Rhonda Kelsey
Sally McClellan
Sarah Crawford
Senekita Farmer
Shayla Pettigrew
Stacy Greenwalt
Teneshia Slempa
Tiffany Outlaw
Tricia Gordon
Tyshica McConner
Valencia Johnson
Vanessa Earle



Chairman Morley called the meeting to order at 2:05 p.m.

Mr. Morley requested a motion to adopt the agenda. Mr. McBride provided the motion, seconded by Ms. Neeley and the motion was unanimously approved.

Mr. Morley asked for a motion to approve the October 17, 2024 minutes. Mr. McBride provided the motion, seconded by Mr. Wooten and the motion was unanimously approved.

Mr. Morley reported on the Executive Committee where he shared that the committee met to discuss and take action on Local Partnership Executive Director compensation submissions. These actions were taken on behalf of the full board due to their time sensitivity. There was some discussion with Mr. Leach, Dr. Simmer, and Chairman Morley around the salaries and stipends.

Chairman Morley asked for a motion to approve the 2025 meeting dates through June 2025. Dr. Simmer provided the motion seconded by Ms. Williams. After some discussion the motion was unanimously approved.

Dr. Richards shared highlights from the Strategic Planning and Evaluation Committee meeting.

Mr. Wooten reported on the Local Partnership Programs and Grants Committee did not meet.

Mr. Barnes reported on the Finance and Administration Committee and briefly shared information on agency expenses. He reported on the status of separation from the Department of Education.

Mr. Wooten reported that Local Partnership Programs and Grants Committee did not meet.

Mr. Cromwell acknowledged the local partnership Executive Directors that have transitioned from their roles in 2024 and welcomed new directors that began this year. Chairman Morley acknowledged Dr. Brenda Williams, Director Robbie Kerr, Senator Gerald Malloy, and Director Mike Leach who all transitioned off of the board this year and welcomed Eunice Medina, Interim Director of DHHS.

Mr. Barnes gave remarks on behalf of Ann Vandervliet and thanked the board and staff during her transition. Dr. Richards shared highlights from the 2023-2024 Annual Report. Ms. Strickland provided highlights and goal for 4K. Ms. Gardiner shared the fundraising goal for the year, details about the annual Night to Celebrate Community fundraiser, and the status of grant awards. Mr. Cromwell invited trustees to participate in the AmeriCorps MLK Week of Service.

Ms. Williams made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Dr. Williams, and the motion was unanimously approved.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:01 p.m. by Chairman Morley.